William E. Coleman House

Title

William E. Coleman House

Description

Seventeen-year-old William Coleman joined the Union ranks of Ohio’s volunteer infantry during the Civil War and then, drawn by tales of gold, came west with his brother Lewis in 1866. Although trained as a carriage blacksmith, Coleman preferred prospecting and mining until injury from a falling timber ended that career. Coleman came to Deer Lodge where he opened a general merchandise business in October of 1871. The store long prospered and Coleman became a vital community leader. He was instrumental in organizing the city water system and helped found the electric company, serving as its vice president. He and his wife Lucy constructed this Victorian-era showplace in 1891-1892. Designed by architects Ameryre and Thori of Superior, Wisconsin, and St. Paul, Minnesota, the magnificent home illustrates the Victorian passion for eclectic details. A wraparound veranda enhanced with spindlework, soaring paneled chimneys, decorative brickwork, and more than a dozen exquisite stained glass windows highlight the Queen Anne style mansion. Exceptional interior features include golden oak woodwork milled in Wisconsin, fireplaces with ornately carved mantles and imported tile, and an elegant paneled stairway richly embellished with spindles and coffering. A hand-carved pineapple newel post, the symbol of hospitality, welcomes guests. As the only well-preserved Victorian-era home in Deer Lodge, the Coleman House is a visual cornerstone of the community and a testament to the importance of its original owner.

Creator

The Montana National Register Sign Program

Type

residential structures
building

Street Address

500 Missouri Avenue, Deer Lodge, Montana

County

Powell county